IMA Inducts Inaugural Hall of Fame

Greg Canose, George Delta, George Kling & Karen Renk Honored

MINNEAPOLIS – July 28, 2017 – The Incentive Marketing Association (IMA) inducted four long-time industry leaders into the new IMA Hall of Fame at its annual Summit this week in Orlando, Florida. 

Greg Canose – With over 35 years of experience in the incentive industry Canose has served as a mentor and leader to many in the industry. He has made consistent and important contributions to the IMA since its inception, including serving as the first president of the IMA Board of Directors. Canose has been an active member of both the Incentive Manufacturers Representatives Alliance (IMRA) and the IMA. He was also instrumental in the formation of the IMRA Strategic Industry Group within the IMA. Canose has received numerous awards and recognitions for his hard work, dedication and success.

George Delta, Esquire – As a co-founder and general counsel of the Incentive Federation Inc., Delta uses his deep knowledge of the industry to monitor federal and state legislation and he works diligently for the best interests of the industry. His accomplishments include his work to avert an industry disaster when OSHA stated its proposed ergonomics rule that safety incentives do no work and lead to under-reporting of injuries, and his extensive work on the protection of I.R.S. Code 274(j). Delta has been active in the incentive industry for over 20 years. He received the IMA President’s Award in 2013 and currently serves on the Board of the Incentive Research Foundation.

George Kling (posthumous) – Over his 50+ years in the incentive industry, Kling is known for having helped many people and brands get started in the industry.  He is also known for bridging the gap between promotional and premium products. Kling taught distributors how to sell incentives and showed brands how to sell to the advertising specialty market. He emphasized collaboration and the opportunities it brought for all involved. Kling is a Past President of the Association of Incentive Marketing, a precursor to the IMA. He was a member and advisor of many state and regional incentive and promotional product associations and organizations. Kling received the Marvin Spike Lifetime Achievement Award from the Advertising Specialty Institute. Kling passed away in 2013.

Karen Renk, (posthumous) – Over 18 years ago, Karen Renk had a vision of what was needed for the incentive industry to move forward. She envisioned an association that encompassed all aspects of the industry, one that would deliver a united message to the corporate world. To realize this vision, she helped create the IMA. Before forming the IMA, she served as the Executive Director for the Incentive Manufacturers Representatives Alliance (IMRA), now a Strategic Industry Group within the IMA. Renk was valued for her support of IMA members and their careers as well as championing the growth of IMA and the incentive industry. A former teacher, she was a strong promoted of industry education and often taught classes on incentives and encouraged many IMA members to pursue their IP or CPIM certifications. Renk passed away in 2014. 

Spencer Toomey, vice president Revo Sunglasses, and IMA past president, started the idea for the IMA Hall of Fame during his presidency last year. “I felt it was important to be able to honor the people whose vision and dedication fostered the growth of the incentive industry. They were true leaders who for many years introduced people to the incentive industry where they discovered they could have successful careers,” he said.