IMA President's Award

Purpose of the Award

The IMA President’s Award, introduced in 2003 to commemorate IMA’s 5th Anniversary, recognizes individuals who have actively furthered IMA’s Mission to:

  • Create a greater awareness of incentives
  • Help incentive suppliers prosper in a changing business environment through education, training, research, and marketing
  • Through example, promote high standards of professionalism in the incentive field.


To be eligible to receive the IMA President’s Award, a candidate must be a voting or affiliate member or honorary member of IMA for five or more years. Candidates for this award must be or have been actively engaged in IMA Committee work, education development, or corporate outreach. The President’s Award recipient may not be a current member of the IMA Board of Directors. An individual may receive the President’s Award only once. 

Nomination and Selection Process

Nominations for the President’s Award may be submitted by IMA’s Board of Directors, Committee Chairs, Committee Members, and the IMA Executive Director. All nominations must be submitted via the official President’s Award Nomination form. The IMA Director of Membership will screen all nominations to eliminate ineligible candidates.

The eligible nominations will be forwarded to the current IMA President for review and consideration. It is the sole decision of the President to select a President’s Award recipient.

Award Presentation

President Award recipients will be recognized during the IMA Annual Meeting during the Summit.

Congratulations to Past Recipients!

2003 Pete Erickson, Managing Director, The Motivation Show
2004 Bruce Bolger, President, Selling Communications, Inc.
2005 Greg Canose, President, Award Marketing Services, LLC
2006 Karen Renk, Executive Director of IMA, the Incentive Marketing Association
2007 Howard Henry, Executive Director of AIM, the Association of Incentive Marketing
2008 Donna Oldenburg, CPIM, Conference Director, The Motivation Show
2009 Jon Hanson, founder of RepLink
2010 Michelle M. Smith, CPIM, CRP, VP, Business Development, O.C. Tanner
2011 G. Stephen Slagle, CAE, President - Incentive Federation
2012 Norma Jean Knollenberg, CPIM, Top Brands, Inc.
2013 George Delta, Esq
2014 Rodger Stotz, Chief Research Officer, The Incentive Research Foundation
2015 Brett Hatch, Global Manager, Corporate Gifts, Maui Jim Sunglasses
2016 Paul Hennessy, Publisher, Premium Incentive Products
2017 Pete Mitchell, Samsonite, LLC 
2018 Tom Niedbalski, Vice President of Global Partnerships and Sales, First Data
2019 Mike Landry, CPIM, Vice President of Special Markets, Tumi